Principal Investigators

Ioannis Aifantis : Professor and Chair

Ioannis Aifantis

Professor and Chair

Herman M. Biggs Professor of Pathology
NYU Langone Medical Center

Ioannis.Aifantis@nyumc.org
Luisa Cimmino : Assistant Professor

Luisa Cimmino

Assistant Professor

(PhD. Columbia University, USA, 2007)
Luisa is studying the role of epigenetics in stem cell quiescence, self-renewal, and leukemia.

Luisa.Cimmino@nyumc.org
Aristotelis Tsirigos : Associate Professor

Aristotelis Tsirigos

Associate Professor

(Ph.D. 2006, New York University)
Director, Center for Applied Bioinformatics
NYU Langone Medical Center

Aristotelis.Tsirigos@nyumc.org

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Maria Guillamot : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Maria Guillamot

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D. 2012, Centro National de Investigaciones Oncologicas, Madrid, Spain)
Maria is studying the impact of the Ubiquitin system in cancer stem cell function.

Maria.Guillamot-Ruano@nyumc.org
Beatriz Aranda-Orgilles : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Beatriz Aranda-Orgilles

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Ph.D. Max Plank Institute for Molecular
Genetics, Berlin, Germany, 2006
Beatriz is developing proteomics approaches and tools to study the role of the ubiquitin system in hematopoiesis and stem cell function.

Beatriz.Aranda-Orgilles@nyumc.org
Anastasia Tikhonova : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Anastasia Tikhonova

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, USA, 2011)
Anastasia's work focusses on understanding cross-talk between leukemic cells and their microenvironment.

Anastasia.Tikhonova@nyumc.org
Nikos Kourtis : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Nikos Kourtis

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D. 2011 University of Crete, Greece),
Nikos is studying novel mechanisms of histone regulation in stem cell function.

Nikolaos.Kourtis@nyumc.org
Philmo Oh : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Philmo Oh

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Resident - Radiation Oncology
(M.D., Ph.D., NYU School of Medicine, USA, 2013)
Philmo is studying the role of the tumor microenvironment and Notch signaling in determining anti-tumor immune responses with ionizing radiation.

philmo.oh@nyumc.org
Francesco Boccalatte : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Francesco Boccalatte

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(PhD, Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele, Milan, 2014)
Francesco is studying the genetic and epigenetic mechanisms that control acute lymphoblastic leukemia

Francesco.Boccalatte@nyumc.org
Palaniraja Thandapani : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Palaniraja Thandapani

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D. McGill University, Canada, 2015)
Raja will be studying lincRNA protein complexes in acute leukemias.

Palaniraja.Thandapani@nyumc.org
Matthew Witkowski : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Matthew Witkowski

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D. University of Melbourne, Australia, 2015)
Matthew is Investigating the role of the tumor microenvironment in supporting AML pathogenesis.

Matthew.Witkowski@nyumc.org
Jochen Imig : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Jochen Imig

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(PhD, Saarland University Medical School, Homburg/Germany, 2010)
Jochen research interests are lncRNAs and miRNAs in melanoma development and metastasis.

Jochen.Imig@nyumc.org
Andreas Kloetgen : Post-Doctoral Fellow

Andreas Kloetgen

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D. Heinrich-Heine University Duesseldorf, Germany, 2016)
Andreas will analyze genetic and epigenetic regulations in melanoma from a bioinformatics point of view.

Andreas.Kloetgen@nyumc.org
Xufeng Chen :  Post-Doctoral Fellow

Xufeng Chen

Post-Doctoral Fellow

(Ph.D., University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2015)
Xufeng is investigating the role of 3D chromosomal topology in AML pathogenesis.

Xufeng.Chen@nyumc.org

Graduate Students

Yoon Sing Yap : Graduate Student, NYU

Yoon Sing Yap

Graduate Student, NYU

(M.Sc., NYU School of Medicine, USA, 2014)
Yoon is engineering novel CRISPR –fusion for interrogation of epigenetic and lincRNA transcription using T-ALL as a model.

YoonSing.Yap@nyumc.org
Harris Lazaris : Graduate Student, NYU

Harris Lazaris

Graduate Student, NYU

(M.Sc. University of Edinburgh, UK, 2012)
Bioinformatics analysis of genome organization and function.

lazaris@nyu.edu
Kathryn Hockemeyer : Medical Student, NYU

Kathryn Hockemeyer

Medical Student, NYU

(B.A. Vanderbilt University, USA, 2013)
Kate is working on the role of the stress response in cancer.

Kathryn.Hockemeyer@med.nyu.edu
Igor Dolgalev : Graduate Student

Igor Dolgalev

Graduate Student

Igor.Dolgalev@nyumc.org
Eric Wang : Graduate Student, NYU

Eric Wang

Graduate Student, NYU

(BA, SUNY Farmingdale, USA, 2008)
Eric is studying transcriptional regulation during leukemia initiation.

Eric.Wang@nyumc.org

Research Technicians

Clarisse Kayembe : Research Technician

Clarisse Kayembe

Research Technician

(BA. 2012, Hunter college)
Clarisse is organizing our animal colonies.

Clarisse.Kayembe@nyumc.org
Hai Hu : Research Technician

Hai Hu

Research Technician

(M. Sc. NYU Tandon School of Engineering, USA, 2012)
Hai is studying molecular mechanism of leukemic metastasis and tissue homing.

Hai.Hu@nyumc.org
Jingjing Wang : Research Technician

Jingjing Wang

Research Technician

Ph.D. Peking University, China, 2011
Jingjing focuses on identification of regulators of Myc protein stability.

Jingjing.Wang@nyumc.org
Kun Wang : Research Technician

Kun Wang

Research Technician

University of China
Kun is organizing our animal colonies.

Kun.Wang@nyumc.org
Edlira Hoxha : Senior Research Technician

Edlira Hoxha

Senior Research Technician

(B.Sc. Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences, Germany, 2011)
Edlira’s work focusses on understanding cross-talk between leukemic cells and their microenvironment.

Edlira.Hoxha@nyumc.org

Bioinformaticians

Yixiao Gong : Bioinformatician

Yixiao Gong

Bioinformatician

(MS. Georgetown University, USA, 2011)
Yixiao is doing comprehensive bioinformatic analysis for most of the lab members projects.

Yixiao.Gong@nyumc.org

Lab Manager

Kate Corrigan : Lab Manager

Kate Corrigan

Lab Manager

Kate.Corrigan@nyumc.org

Administration

Ramona Ramen : Executive Assistant to Chair

Ramona Ramen

Executive Assistant to Chair

Ramona.Ramen@nyumc.org